Johnson, Friedrichsen and Carr Win Titles at Rocket Mortgage High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships

Johnson, Friedrichsen and Carr Win Titles at Rocket Mortgage High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships

April 1, 2023

HOUSTON (March 31, 2023) – Virginia commit Kymora Johnson, Wake Forest pledge Parker Friedrichsen and Michigan State signee Coen Carr took home event titles at the 2023 Rocket Mortgage High School Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships on Friday night. The event concluded a successful series of showcase events from Intersport at Hoops House inside the Bayou Music Center in downtown Houston.

To tip off the festivities, the trio combined to win the Applebee’s Team Shootout, completing the four shooting stations in a blistering 14.8 seconds to easily take home the title. Friedrichsen then took his turn against a competitive field in the TaxAct Boys 3-Point Championships, defeating UCLA commit Sebastian Mack in the championship round. Johnson won the TaxAct Girls 3-Point Championship, defeating Indiana pledge Lenee Beaumont in the event final, then went on to beat Friedrichsen head to head in the Rocket Mortgage Battle of the Champions.

The evening ended with the King’s Hawaiian Slam Dunk Championship, where all four competitors showcased their athleticism and creativity. Michigan State commit Coen Carr and Purdue signee Myles Colvin earned spots in the event final, where each posted perfect scores to force a second round. Coen duplicated a perfect score with his second dunk to narrowly edge Colvin, who scored a 28 on his second effort.

CBS will air a one-hour special highlighting the best of the best from the event on Sunday at 1 p.m. CT.

The complete results from Friday’s event can be found below:

Applebee’s Team Shootout
Parker Friedrichsen, Kymora Johnson, Coen Carr – 14.8
Myles Colvin, Sebastian Mack, Taliah Scott – 26.9
Loghan Johnson, Caleb Foster, Kaden Cooper – 36.5
George Washington III, Lenee Beaumont, Cam Christie – DNF

TaxAct Boys 3-Point Championship
First Round

Parker Friedrichsen – 35
Sebastian Mack – 34
Caleb Foster – 32
Cam Christie – 30

Championship Round
Parker Friedrichsen – 17
Sebastian Mack – 13

TaxAct Girls 3-Point Championship
First Round

Kymora Johnson – 32
Lenee Beaumont – 28
Taliah Scott – 25
Loghan Johnson – 19

Championship Round
Kymora Johnson – 18
Lenee Beaumont – 15

Rocket Mortgage Battle of the Champions
Kymora Johnson – 17
Parker Friedrichsen – 11

King’s Hawaiian Slam Dunk Championship
First Round (two dunks, 60 possible points)

Myles Colvin – 60
Coen Carr – 55
George Washington III – 54
Kaden Cooper – 51

Championship Round
Coen Carr – 30
Myles Colvin – 30

Championship Round Dunk Off
Coen Carr – 30
Myles Colvin – 28